Lifestyle & Parenting

FIFA Women’s World Cup is Just ‘Round the Corner!

June 3, 2019

As the 2019 edition of the FIFA Women’s World Cup is ’round the corner, and all the teams are gearing up for action in France, starting June 7th, we thought it might be a good idea to provide a refresher ahead of this highly anticipated tournament. The tournament also attracts a lot of betting action from all parts of the world, with punters getting behind their favourites in every possible way. If you, too, love football betting and/or would like to show your support for your favourite team, you can make use of these online betting predictions, and make every penny count. Who knows, you might strike it really rich by the time the tournament ends! —Vita Daily


what is fifa women’s world cup all about? It is an international football championship which takes place every four years. The first FIFA women’s World Cup was played in the year 1991. The women’s national teams of the countries who have member associations in FIFA (Federation Internationale de Football Association) compete with each other to qualify for the main tournament. Twenty-four qualifying teams are split into six different groups of four teams each. This segregation is done based on their FIFA world ranking. Canada is currently ranked five and recently played a friendly against England (which they won 1-0). The English side is ranked one place higher than them in FIFA rankings. The top two teams from every group make it to the round of 16, along with the four best third-placed teams in their groups. The round of 16 is the knockout phase, which is followed by the quarter-finals, semifinals and lastly the final. The eventual winner emerges after 52 matches in total. The 2019 edition of the tournament will also provide the top three teams entry into the 2020 Summer Olympics, scheduled in Japan.

previous winners of the cup. This is the eighth edition of the tournament and several different teams have bagged the prestigious trophy. The first World Cup which was played in China, in the year 1991, was won by the U.S. Norway took home the 1995 cup held in Sweden followed by U.S.A. again in 1999. In 2003, the tournament was held in the U.S. and Germany were the winners. They won it again in 2007, in China. Thereafter, the 2011 Cup was bagged by Japan in Germany, and the last one (in 2015) was won by the U.S. in Canada, for a record third time.

the hosts this time. Countries interested in hosting the tournament nominate themselves every four years and the decision is made based on several factors ranging from support of the football community, cost efficiency to the present infrastructure of the country. In 2015 France were declared the hosts of the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup. Having hosted the men’s FIFA World Cup twice, they are no strangers to such grand international tournaments. The event will be held in following nine French cities: Le Havre, Rennes, Montpellier, Paris, Valenciennes, Reims, Nice, Grenoble and Lyon. The 24 teams that have qualified this time are: Canada, Argentina, Thailand, Spain, U.S.A., Scotland, Korea Republic, Japan, Chile, Brazil, China PR, Jamaica, Australia, Japan, Scotland, Sweden, Italy, New Zealand, Norway, Germany, France, Nigeria, South Africa and Netherlands.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


get social


get more out of


Want the best, curated headlines and trends on the fly?

get more out of vita

Sign up for one, or sign up for all!