Gibson’s Is Gold

February 15, 2024

Gibson’s Finest Canadian Whisky, known for its sophisticated character, extraordinary smoothness, and outstanding flavour, recently snagged some remarkable wins at the 2024 World Whiskies Awards held in London, England, on February 1, 2024, and the Canadian Whisky Awards held in Victoria, British Columbia, on January 18, 2024, solidifying its status as a leader in blending exceptional quality Canadian whisky. 

At the esteemed 2024 World Whiskies Awards, Gibson’s Finest 18 Year Old claimed the coveted title of Canadian Blended Category Winner for the second consecutive year. This exceptional whisky also secured a prestigious gold medal, a testament to its distinctive smoothness and rich character. This marks the brand’s second win in this category, following its previous gold win in 2023 and silver win in 2022, further elevating its presence on a global stage. 

Further showcasing its excellence, Gibson’s Finest 18 Year Old received a prestigious gold medal at the 14th Annual Canadian Whisky Awards, the first and only competition dedicated entirely to Canadian whisky. Renowned for its long, velvety finish, this notable whisky continues to captivate connoisseurs and judges alike with its exceptional flavor profile. 

Proudly distilled and bottled in Ontario, Gibson’s Finest also received a prestigious bronze medal for its Gibson’s Finest Rare 12 Year Old expression at the World Whiskies Awards. Meanwhile, Gibson’s Finest Canadian Whisky also earned silver medals for two of its extraordinary expressions: Gibson’s Finest Rare 12 Year Old and Gibson’s Finest Bold 8 Year Old at the Canadian Whisky Awards.

“We are excited and proud to have received this recognition on both the global stage and right here at home in Canada,” says Emma Herlihy, senior brand director, William Grant & Sons Canada.

Gibson’s Finest is one for the ages. Canadian whiskies are only required to be aged for three years, a requirement that Gibson’s Finest exceeds to achieve its refined flavour and distinct character. The Gibson’s Finest Canadian Whisky range includes four variants that ensure there is a flavour profile to suit every taste palate, ranging from sweet and silky to vibrant with vanilla. The four variants include Gibson’s Finest Sterling, Gibson’s Finest Bold aged for 8 years, Gibson’s Finest Rare aged for 12 years and Gibson’s Finest Venerable aged for 18 years. 

“The awards from both the World Whiskies Awards and the Canadian Whisky Awards highlight Gibson’s Finest’s dedication to quality and innovation in the world of Canadian whisky,” adds Herlihy. “These wins are a testament to our method of making whisky that embodies its age and character.”

The World Whiskies Awards are a global platform dedicated to recognizing and celebrating the best of whiskies worldwide. This year the global awards saw more than 1,600 entries in 22 categories including Single Malt, Blended, Bourbon and Rye. —Vita Daily


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


get social


get more out of


Want the best, curated headlines and trends on the fly?

get more out of vita

Sign up for one, or sign up for all!